Anton Chekov: Collected Works Volume Five

Anton Chekov: Collected Works Volume Five


Translated by Kathleen Mary Cook and Ivy Litvinov Raduga
Publishers, Moscow, 1990
Hardcover – 400 pages

(price includes p&h within Australia)


The fifth and last volume of this selection of Chekov’s writing contains his best known dramatic works: two one-act comic sketches The Bear (1888) and The Anniversary (1891), his first full-length play Ivanov(1887) and the four masterpieces which established him as one of the greatist dramatists of all time, The Seagull (1896), Uncle Vanya (1897), The Three Sisters(1901) and The Cherry Orchard (1903). Written a century ago these plays are as fresh and spellbinding as ever. Chekov never ceases to astound and delight with his depth of psychological insight, his ability to portray the powerful undercurrents below the surface of people’s apparently humdrum lives. (From inside cover.)